Double Feature! 1001 Nights Retellings – ARC Review vs. Subscription Box

A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston vs. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

A Thousand NightsThe Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1)


2.5/5 vs. 4/5

I received a copy of A Thousand Nighst as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I received a copy of The Wrath and The Dawn as part of my subscription to Uppercase Box.

Goodreads Descriptions

A Thousand Nights

Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

And so she is taken in her sister’s place, and she believes death will soon follow. Lo-Melkhiin’s court is a dangerous palace filled with pretty things: intricate statues with wretched eyes, exquisite threads to weave the most beautiful garments. She sees everything as if for the last time.But the first sun rises and sets, and she is not dead. Night after night, Lo-Melkhiin comes to her and listens to the stories she tells, and day after day she is awoken by the sunrise. Exploring the palace, she begins to unlock years of fear that have tormented and silenced a kingdom. Lo-Melkhiin was not always a cruel ruler. Something went wrong.

Far away, in their village, her sister is mourning. Through her pain, she calls upon the desert winds, conjuring a subtle unseen magic, and something besides death stirs the air.

Back at the palace, the words she speaks to Lo-Melkhiin every night are given a strange life of their own. Little things, at first: a dress from home, a vision of her sister. With each tale she spins, her power grows. Soon she dreams of bigger, more terrible magic: power enough to save a king, if she can put an end to the rule of a monster.

The Wrath and the Dawn

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

Read More »

Top Ten Author Duos I’d Love to See Write a Book Together – October 13

October 13: Top Ten Author Duos You’d LOVE To See Write A Book Together (aka my (Jamie’s) world would explode if Gayle Forman and Jandy Nelson wrote a book together) — might be hard to come up with 10 but still would be fun! Bonus points if you tell us what kind of book you’d like them to write!

Agatha Christie/”Carolyn Keene”

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Hercule Poirot, #1)The Secret of the Old Clock (Nancy Drew, #1)

Read More »

Top Ten Things I Want to Stop Reading About – October 6

Ten Things I Want to Stop Reading About

***There are many books that I love that include the following elements. I also love a lot of the movies I used gifs for🙂 However, I feel as though what I listed is overdone, overexposed, not well enough developed, and/or irritating in a lot of YA fiction that has come out or is coming out recently***

Love Triangles

katniss everdeen animated GIF

katniss everdeen animated GIF

Read More »

♥ The High Priest’s Daughter OUT TODAY! ♥

The High Priests Daughter, third book in the Network Series, coming out fall 2015!

Everyone! The last book in the Network series by Katie Cross, The High Priest’s Daughter, is out TODAY! RIGHT NOW! I absolutely love these series and have posted reviews for all the other novels in the series🙂 Definitely check it out!

Miss Mabel’s School for Girls Review  The Network Series 1

Antebellum Awakening Review  The Network Series 2

The Isadora Interviews The Network Series Novella

Mildred’s Resistance Review The Network Series Prequel

Check out Katie’s website for more information about the series and where to purchase!

K Cross Writing

♥, Clare




Choose Your Own Adventure! – Fantasy Map Showcase

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, Red Queen by Vitoria Aveyard, and An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)


4.5/5 Stars Each

I read all three of these books in one week (along with a few others ;-)) and I adored them all. So many people have reviewed these novels that I thought I would, instead, offer a combined post that showcases the maps in a mash up of awesome.

Goodreads Descriptions

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?


Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

Read More »